2016 Fellow Imani Uzuri. Photo by Petra Richterova.

Launched in 2015, the Composer and Sound Artist Fellowship awarded 10 one-year fellowships of $20,000 each in 2016 and 2017. The goals of this program were embraced and the number of composer and sound artist grantees expanded in the new Jerome Hill Artist Fellowship program launched in 2018. As a result, the Composer and Sound Artist Fellowship program has been incorporated into the new Jerome Hill Artist Fellowship.

The program offered self-designed fellowships to further the creative development of five emerging composers/sound artists working in any musical genre, whose work is of exceptional artistic merit and/or promise.

Fellowship funds could be used to cover a variety of needs, including living expenses, attendance at workshops and seminars, participation in residency programs, travel, equipment purchases necessary for creative work, rental of studio space, buying time from other employment to focus on music making, publication, recording, technical assistance (including legal counsel), healthcare and paying for childcare to make time for art making.


Learn more about the Fellows

Rafiq Bhatia. Photo by Melissa Neira.
Rafiq Bhatia. Photo by Melissa Neira.

Simone Eccleston, Director of Programming at Harlem Stage

Douglas Ewart, composer, improviser, sculptor and maker of masks and instruments

Miya Masaoka, composer, sound artist, and musician

Andrea Mazzariello, composer and Assistant Professor of Music at Carleton College

Mankwe Ndosi, composer and cultural worker

Elena Park, Director & Curator, National Sawdust and Supervising Producer, Metropolitan Opera

Rio Sakairi, Artistic Director at The Jazz Gallery

Jeanette Vuocolo, producer, presenter, and former Program Director, Chamber Music America-Jazz