Helga Davis Elected to Jerome Foundation Board of Directors

Jun 07, 2021

At its Annual Meeting on June 6, 2021, the Jerome Foundation Members of the Corporation elected Helga Davis, vocalist and performance artist, to a first term on the Jerome Foundation Board of Directors and re-elected Penumbra Artistic Director Sarah Bellamy (Saint Paul, MN) and First Peoples Fund President/CEO Lori Pourier (Rapid City, SD) to their second terms.

President Ben Cameron said, “Sarah Bellamy and Lori Pourier have been deeply valued Directors in their first terms, and all of us are grateful that they have accepted an additional three-year appointment.  And we are excited to welcome Helga Davis, who is a remarkable musician and an incredible human being, deeply dedicated to artists and to the mission of the Foundation. We are thrilled that she has accepted the invitation to join the Board.”

Davis replaces outgoing Director Elizabeth Streb, who had served for the maximum nine years on the Board.  “Elizabeth has always been a passionate voice for artists, for experimentation and for the role of foundations in supporting their work.  Her relentless and restless curiosity will be deeply missed,” Cameron added.

The Members of the Jerome Foundation (a group of up to five individuals which include both family relations and individuals without kinship who are chosen because of their ties to the Hill family) are charged with preserving the legacy of Jerome Hill, ensuring that the charitable purposes of the Foundation are observed and electing the Board of Directors. Directors are elected for three-year terms and can serve a maximum of nine years.

The Directors also elected their own officers, including President of Propel Nonprofits Kate Barr (Saint Paul, MN), Chair; Tyler School of Art at Temple University Professor of Practice in Art History, Linda Earle (New York, NY), Vice-Chair; theater, music and live performance artist Daniel Alexander Jones (Bronx, NY), Secretary; and former Vice President of Finance and Administration of The McKnight Foundation Rick Scott (Minneapolis, MN), Treasurer.  Curator of Media and Performance at the Museum of Modern Art Thomas Lax (New York, NY) and President of the Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Sanjit Sethi (Minneapolis, MN) also continue in their first terms on the Board.